AuthX Portal Guide

Groups

(Roles Required: Owner, Administrator, User Manager, Help Desk, EPCS Enroller)

Groups can be used to manage and categorize users which furthermore makes it easier to handle users. Groups can be associated with applications which are protected by the company.

Groups Grid

(Role Required: Owner, Administrator, User Manager, EPCS Enroller)

  1. The groups grid lists information like group name, status, number of users and description of the group.

    1. Name: Name lists the group’s name.

    2. Status: A group’s status can be active or inactive.

    3. Number of users: This column gives a count of users in the group.

    4. Description: This column lists a description of the group. 

    5. Source Type: The source of how the user was added is an entry in this column.

      1. In-Cloud – When the users are added through the portal (i.e using the Add User button), the source type is In-cloud.

      2. AdSync – When the users are added through directory sync, the source type is AdSync.

      3. On-Prem – When the users are added through LDAP application, the source type is On-Prem

    6. Actions: Providing an option to delete the group by Owner / Admin.

Add Group

(Role Required: Owner, Administrator, User Manager, EPCS Enroller)

The admin can add a group by clicking on the Add Group button in the top right corner. Adding a group is a process of two steps.

Adding Group Name and Description

This is the first step in adding a group. The admin enters group name and description for the group and clicks on add group button to proceed to the second step. This step basically checks for the uniqueness of the group name.

  1. Group Name

    1. Group Name is a mandatory field.

    2. Group name for a company is unique.

  2. Description

    1. Description is not a mandatory field. Provide your description as per the Group created

Adding User to a group

This is the second step in adding a group. Once the uniqueness of the group name is checked, the admin is taken to the below page.

The admin can see new components like

  1. Status

    1. Status of group can be Inactive or Active. By default, when the admin is creating the group the status is active.

  2. Users

    1. The admin can add users to a group while creating a group. This can be done by clicking on the Add Users button in the user section.

    2. A pop up appears with a list of users whose status is active.

    3. The admin can select multiple users to add to the group.

    4. The admin can even search a user by using the search bar.

    5. If there are no users added yet, then this pop up displays the following message- “No users available to add.” The add user and cancel button shouldn’t be there. The search bar shouldn’t be there too.

  3. User Grid

    1. The user grid in the group page, will have the following information- Username, Name, Status, Last Login and Action.

      1. Username: The admin can click on the username to be able to view the user’s profile.

      2. Name: Full name of the user.

      3. Status: Status of the user. The user when added to a group is always active. If a user is deactivated or locked out, then the status of the user is always taken from user’s profile.

      4. Last Login: The last login will be user’s last activity timestamp.

      5. Action: This column has a delete (Trash icon) option to remove a user from a group.

Edit Group

(Role Required: Owner, Administrator, User Manager, EPCS Enroller)

  1. To edit a group, the admin just needs to click on the group name in the groups grid.

  2. The admin can edit a group by changing the group name and description.

  3. An admin can change the group status to inactive also. Admin cannot change the group status to inactive if the group is associated to an application.

  4. While editing the button is Save changes below the status.